Anambra State Assembly Chief Whip,Five 5 Other APGA members Defect to APC

The Chief Whip of the Anambra State House of Assembly, Lawrence Ezeudu, who represents Dumekofia constituency of the state has led 5 other members of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and state Assembly to dump the party and pitch tent with the All Progressives Congress (APC).

APC and APGA Logo

The APGA members announced their defection shortly after they met with APC Chairman, Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee(CECPC), Mai Mala Buni and other top members of the party in Abuja on Tuesday.

According to Ezeudu the defection was because Anambra state can no longer avoid to be disconnected from the national political grids and benefits from the centre.

Another member,
Dr. Timothy Ifedioramma, who represents Njikoka 1 said the protracted leadership crisis and confusion in APGA informed part of their reasons to dump the party and settle for APC.

The defection comes barely two months to the November 6 Governorship election; swelling the chances of APC and its candidate, Andy Uba at the polls.

The defection which is believed to have been pulled off by the Governor of Imo State, Hope Uzodinma was sealed in the presence of the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwolu, his counterpart from Osun State, Gboyega Oyetola and Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello.

Receiving the new APC converts, Buni said the massive movement into the APC is a testimony of President Muhammadu Buhari’s performance.

Also speaking, Governor Uzodinma said more prominent politicians from the Southeast will be going the APC in the days ahead; adding that the political landscape in Igboland is fast changing into APC.

Uzodinmma is optimistic that with the current trend, Anambra is already in the kitty for his APC.

The other APGA members who abandoned the party for APC were Hon. Nonso Okafio, representing Nnewi constituency; and
Hon. Dr. Cater DN Umeoduagu-(Aguata 1).

Others included
Hon. Arthur Chiekwu (Idemili North) and Hon. Edward Ibuzo (Onitsha North).